The Mirror Of Your Mind

Watch out!  It’s Skeleton Man!

~

Whose that fool lookin’ back at you

In the mirror of your mind

Could it be the one you see

 Whose name you’ve often signed

Can you place the familiar face

You thought you left behind

~

Take a real good look

In the mirror of your mind

Take a real good look

In the mirror of your mind

~

Whose that clown that’s bringing you down

In the mirror of your mind

Whose the one that son of a gun

Who treats you so unkind

Open your eyes & realize

How long you have been blind

~

Take a real good look

In the mirror of your mind

Take a real good look

In the mirror of your mind

~

And realize that beauty lies

In the eyes of the beholder

And nobody is out to do you any harm

You can’t go on crying

On somebody else’s shoulder

When the helping hand is on the other hand

~

Things in all directions

Are only your reflections

Everywhere you go

You’ve got to reap just what you sow

All the world is about you

Is within & without you

The things that you have hated

They’re the things that you’ve created

~

Hey!

Mirror mirror on the wall

Whose the scariest one of all

Mirror mirror in my mind

Won’t you won’t you help me find THE TRUTH

~

I’d give everything I own

To find The Truth

Who I am & what I’m doing

What I am & why

Everything I touch I ruin

I don’t know why I try

~

I keep lookin’ for The Truth

Won’t you

Won’t you

Won’t you

Help me find The Truth

People tell me come join the crowd

We think we’ve found the way

What they are shouts so loud

That I can’t hear what they say

~

I’m talkin’ about The Truth

Where in the world do you go to find The Truth

Seems I heard somebody mention

I don’t know where or when

Switch a little part of your attention

From the outside to withinnnnnnn!

~

Whose that fool lookin’ back at you

In the mirror of your mind

I wanna know

Could it be the one whose name you’ve often signed

Can you place the familiar face

You thought you left behind

~

Take a real good look

In the mirror of your mind

Take a darn good look

In the mirror of your mind

~

Mirror mirror in my mind

Won’t you won’t you help me find

The Truth

~

sung & written by Joe South

1940-2012

~

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HY_0eGKPPzo

~

Leave a Reply

