Will You Still Need Me? Will You Still Feed Me?

~

T’was a red hot brand

That singed my hide forever

When you passed me in your new Volvo

On College Avenue

~

I was lollygagging along

In my brother’s ’56 Chevy

When you honked, waved, smiled

And accelerated as if a gust of wind

~

I would have chased you down

But I was having a logical moment

No, I’d get a ticket &

You’d get away, so I didn’t

~

The blond in the little white station wagon

Fresh out of high school & accelerating

A sight to behold, a flash

A photo forever in my mind

~

I finally caught up to you at 64

A remnant of yesteryear

Bee-bopping in the kitchen making me breakfast

A plate of nourishment piled a mile high

~

Rawclyde!

~

photo

Buffalo Bill Cody

~

Leave a Reply

