Ghost Town

~

I sauntered into the haunted saloon

placed myself carefully on a stool at the counter

nobody was there but a bunch of ghosts & me

~

~

The barmaid, Holy Mary, uncorked a bottle of grace

poured me a shot

the shot glass looked empty

but I knew, yes, I knew

the shot glass was now full of grace

“the Lord is with thee,” I said to the barmaid

she smiled gently

a replica of the Milky Way galaxy in each eye

a crucifix above her head

~

~

“What’s a crucifix doing in here?” I asked

her reply:  “This is the ghost town called Love, remember?”

an awkward grin tilted my head sideways

I gulped down what she had served

& left a generous tip

~

~

photos

3:10 to Yuma

1957

&

Holy Mary / Tumblr.com

~

~

A Ghost Town Called Love

http://aghostttowncalledlove.yolasite.com

by

Rawclyde

!

2 thoughts on “Ghost Town

  1. Dear Old Timer,
    This was an awesome posting. The photos added to the mental imagry. I read it out loud to my family, using my best impression of Lee VanCleef. Thank you.

    God bless,

    • Wow! Thank you! For including me in your Family Affair. Getting discovered by a New York publisher will be nothing compared to this. I’m beyond flattered. I am fulfilled. God bless you too. And happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

